The Storm before the Calm

Tempers flared. Voices were raised. Fingers pointed. The situation had escalated beyond the point of no return. With stakes exceptionally high for the minority, something had to be done, and this time, for those used to steering, it was the hardest thing to do. Nothing.

 

The Storm

The Storm

 

The above narrative relates to a personal group conflict that came to a head in a single meeting, causing seemingly irreparable damage to relationships and the work at hand. Which begs the question, how do you deal with hugely clashing personalities and incongruent work ethics in a work environment?

1. You address the situation

Yes, you’re an adult, and you can sort your s**t out yourself. Only, in my experience, often when feeling attacked, I revert to that kid who was bullied at school and confine myself to my room (read: office) in tears.

2. You kick up a fuss with anyone who’ll listen

Take it to the director, tell all your other colleagues, your mom, partner, dog, anyone with ears, how right you are and how wrong they are, and try to garner support. Unfortunately, in my experience, all this does is make the people you confide in think you are a whiney b***h who is incapable of dealing with her own issues, and it generally fuels the already rather engulfing flames of the existing fire.

(It is however very difficult not to take this approach, when emotions are high.)

3. You remove yourself from the situation

This could be as extreme as putting in your resignation, or slightly less dramatic, requesting a department change or being assigned to a different project. The problem is, it isn’t really a solution, and doesn’t help the problem, but rather enables it.

4. Absolutely nothing

Let the universe play out its will, as it always does, and hope for the best. Now this is not an option I would usually go for, being somewhat of a control freak, but this is the only option I was left with in this specific situation.

So in my case, I did nothing. As difficult as it was for me to let go, I just did. And what do you know, it worked. As soon as I allowed myself to step back, a sense of still overcame me, and I wasn’t as personally affected by the situation.

The work that was completed was ultimately of an acceptable standard, and those who received it were none the wiser to the screaming, sweat and tears that went into it. So perhaps this has taught me, that despite my desire to control, in some situations the best thing to do is absolutely nothing at all.

Leave a comment